I suck at Math: Smoothie Meal Replacement

source: timesrecordnews.com*

 

I’ve finally been given more hours at work, so that I work four days a week now. This means that my tendency to not eat breakfast when I can instead sleep in for an extra fifteen minutes has become a bit of a situation.

Now, I don’t know about most people, but I don’t like fruit very much. I can eat an orange and I like things that are berry flavored, but I’ll rarely just eat a blueberry or a banana unless I’m forcing myself (GET THOSE NUTRIENTS! GET THEM!!!). But I do like fruit smoothies. The blended flavors are just nicer to me.

So last night my fiance and I went to the supermarket (not the relaxing night he had wanted, but he was a good sport about it) and I grabbed the supplies for two different smoothie types (which I am winging instead of following a recipe).

Today I decided to use bananas, strawberries, and blueberries to make a Berry Banana smoothie, which I think turned out rather well. I made too much, of course, because I suck at eyeballing how many ingredients, when blended with other ingredients, will make a finished product. So I gave half to my mom and then halved the recipe, which can be found below. It was pretty delicious!

 

* The photo you see above is not mine, but that is what my smoothie looked like. I served mine in a chipped mug, because I am a lady but I am also broke. 

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

 The recipe:

 Berry Banana Smoothie

1 Banana

1/4 pint strawberries

1/4 pint blueberries

2 tablespoons vanilla yogurt*

5 ice cubes

Make sure to put the yogurt in first, followed by the ice. Use “crush” setting. Then, pulse for the fruit on top. 

      * The search for a low-sugar vanilla yogurt was pretty difficult. I used Dannon Light & Fit because it had the least amount of sugar without an aspartame substitute.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Pro Tips: aka things I learned by not being a pro at all.

1. Make sure all of the stems are removed from the blueberries. Even if you leave one stem behind, you will find it later.

2. Ice does not blend on the “pulse” setting. This is something that I should have known, but I didn’t, and the sound that the blender made as a result made me feel like I should apologize to the appliance personally.

Leave a Reply

