Learning to Balance

picture008Obviously, I have not committed a huge expanse of time to this website. Admittedly, I began the website with the best intentions, but soon after signing up for the URL my life was thrown into a whirlwind: work re-commenced on the house, my engagement to my fiance was announced, job hunts dominated any time that was spent while I wasn’t actually working, and general insanity ensued. Then September came, and I moved into my upstairs flat (termed “The Treehouse”) with my fiance Jim and our two new kittens, Nacho and Charlie. Suddenly, I was paying bills and learning to cook and figuring out how to schedule time to go to the laundromat and the gym and make the next day’s lunches and clean up dinner all in the four-hour time span left between work and bed. It was exhausting, and some days I wasn’t very good at it. Now, three and a half months later, my fiance and I have finally had a week to take a breath and some time to ourselves- this evening we each sat on the couch and read for a half hour without the noise of a television or the click of a mouse. Our phones didn’t even alert us to football scores (him) or hockey games (me) and it was absolutely wonderful.

I suppose to bring this rambling post to a close, I’ll just say that striking a balance among the chaos is not easy- finding time to meditate and paint my nails and do laundry has not gotten any easier, I’ve just had to learn what to prioritize. One of the things that I would like to prioritize is this website. I’ve been learning a ton of new recipes (and making up a few of my own), coming up with kids crafts, and learning some great DIY solutions to my new home. I’m incredibly eager to share them with you, and to learn your tips and tricks as well.

So keep an eye out for me, my darlings. I assure you this site will look like home soon enough.

Leave a Reply

