Buffalo Bites appetizer

I was working from home the other day and when it came time to make lunch I realized that I wanted to try to make something different. Over the weekend Jim, my dad, and I had gone to Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia and stopped at Hatville Deli to pick up cheeses, and one of the cheeses that we brought home was a blue cheese. So, logically, I decided to make Buffalo Bites- because I don’t know what else to pair blue cheese with besides buffalo flavored everything.

20140107_130501

Ingredients: (serves 2)

To make the chicken:

  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 tablespoons of flour
  • 1/3 cup breadcrumbs (or in my case, two pieces of toast rubbed together to create breadcrumbs because we ran out of breadcrumbs)
  • dash of cooking oil

1. pour all dry ingredients into a gallon-sized sandwich bag.

2. Cut chicken into 2-3 inch sized pieces. Toss pieces into sandwich bag and shake to coat chicken evenly.

3. Set a frying pan on a medium-low heat with a dash of your cooking oil of choice. Place your chicken into the oil once it’s heated up a bit (after a minute or so). Turn chicken occasionally to cook evenly.

cooking with oil terrifies me.

cooking with oil terrifies me.

4. Remove chicken from pan, empty oil, return chicken to oil-less pan.

To make the buffalo sauce: 

  • 1.5-2 teaspoons flour (depends on personal preference)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon Franks hot sauce (or more/less)

1. Melt the butter on low heat and combine with Frank’s hot sauce. Slowly whisk in the flour. You can add more/less flour and hot sauce depending on preference. The 2 teaspoon of flour to 3 tablespoons of butter is a thicker ratio, but has a richer flavor. However, if you prefer more of a sauce, then use less flour.

2. Pour buffalo sauce over fried chicken and stir to coat evenly.

Finishing Touches 

These Buffalo Bites can be served a ton of different ways- on their own with a side of blue cheese or ranch sauce, on sandwiches, over a salad, or my personal favorite; as sliders.

I used some homemade bread (those adventures are detailed in this post) and made thin slices that I toasted slightly. I then added lettuce, raw onion, and blue cheese crumbles on top of the bread. Onto this I placed 1-2 bites of chicken, and melted a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese on top.

Tell me your own buffalo chicken recipes in the comments!

Leave a Reply

